Joyer has today released their new video for the single titled ‘Cranky Boy’, from their upcoming album ‘Perfect Gray’, out September 24th via Julia’s War Recordings. Joined by their own version of slowcore, brothers Nick and Shane Sullivan combine their styles and influences into a quiet haven for the socially disenfranchised and introverted. An anthem for Emo and a statement for those who don’t feel they fit in but haven’t met each other yet. Words and music are not enough. There’s feeling. That cranky boy.

‘Perfect Gray’ releases on September 24th.

About Joyer

Having both come from a film background, brothers Nick and Shane Sullivan use their inspiration from directors like Tsai Ming-Liang and Andrei Tarkovsky to craft bleak and unadorned slowcore which emphasizes bizarre and ominous imagery, under the moniker Joyer. Their lyrics mix themes of environmental catastrophe, industrial decay, and internal struggle with an effort to stay positive and find contentment in personal meaning.

The Deli Magazine described Joyer’s music as “an engaging mix of slacker rock wordplay and discordant instrumentation, both boisterous in its separate parts yet quiet in execution.”.

Writing about their 2020 album Sun Into Flies, Post-Trash had this to say: “Joyer are quietly making some of the finest recent slowcore music […] To listen to Joyer is to miss live music: not of the large concert arena type, nor a neighborhood bar show, but simply just a wonderful house show.”

Their latest release, Perfect Gray, marks their debut on the Philadelphia-based label Julia’s War.

Perfect Gray
Julia’s War
Release Date: September 24, 2021

Joyer - Perfect Gray (Julia’s War)
Joyer – Perfect Gray (Julia’s War)
Track List:
  1. Worst Thing
  2. Crows
  3. Perfect Gray
  4. In The Dirt
  5. Creek
  6. Milk
  7. Cranky Boy
  8. Nothing
  9. Lucky
  10. I Was Wrong
  11. Rain Came Down Sideways
  12. Two Times
  13. Pulled Teeth
  14. Finally One
  15. Breeze