Girli has today released her new single titled ‘Crush Me Up’ from her upcoming album ‘Matriarchy’, dropping May 17th via AllPoints / Believe.

Whether you consider yourself a ‘dancer’ or not, i dare you not to shake your ‘booty’ a bit in your chair and quick glance to see if you got caught. That’s how you will feel with ‘Crush Me Up’ as it shakes you down with that soul you never realized that you had.

About ‘Crush Me Up’

“Crush Me Up” delves into the euphoric sensation of having a crush, vividly capturing the experience of being irresistibly drawn to someone, with their presence permeating every thought and moment. With heart-thumping electro synths that compel you to shout the song from the rooftops, girli’s poignant lyrics depict a mutual longing, portraying a relationship filled with equal desire and fervor. As anticipation builds for the release of ‘Matriarchy,’ this latest single sets the stage for what is sure to be an unforgettable and pioneering album.

2024 has already proven to be an exceptional year for girli, with the successful completion of her ‘Matriarchy: US Tour,’ which saw her captivating audiences in cities such as New York, Los Angeles, Chicago, etc. Alongside her tour, Girli released “Be With Me,” a rebellious anthem against patriarchal standards, advocating for self-acceptance and authenticity. She is continuing the Matriarchy world tour this month, embarking in Europe, Australia, and the UK. Dates below.

In late 2023, girli dropped “Nothing Hurts Like a Girl,” accompanied by a provocative music video that candidly explores the highs and lows of relationships. Of the track, Billboard stated “with a throbbing bass line, crisp guitar riffs and a sparkling assortment of synths, girli is dancing the pain away” while Queerty described it as “an explosive pop track that takes you through the wringer in the best way.”

‘Matriarchy’ marks a new phase in girli’s artistic journey, emphasizing individuality and empowerment. The album’s title track, “Matriarchy,” has been hailed as “a fresh era for the outspoken cult heroine” by Clash, serving as a rebellion against the male gaze and a mission statement for an album that promises to rewrite the book on artistic reinvention. Additional inspiration for the album consists of figures like Petra Collins, Sofia Coppola, Patti Smith, Marlene Dietrich, Rupi Kaur, and the Riot Grrrl movement.

People Magazine featured girli on their 2023 list of Emerging Artists, highlighting her exploration of mental health, queer identity, friendships, and more through her music. Praised by NME, Refinery 29, and Bustle, girli’s passions extend beyond music as she fearlessly uses her platform to spark conversations around feminism, sexuality, identity, and mental health.In a world where representation matters more than ever, girli is ready to rewrite the rules and inspire positive change through her art.

About Girli

Amelia Toomey, professionally known as girli, is a singer-songwriter from London, England. Through her pop-punk and electric sound, she has released multiple singles and EPs. girli’s debut album ‘Odd One Out’ was released in 2019. Under record label AllPoints, girli releases music about female empowerment, queer relationships and mental health. In 2021, single “More Than a Friend” was released and has since amassed over 53 million streams on Spotify alone. In 2023, People Magazine nominated girli as one of their “Emerging Artists” features. She was also a performer during SXSW Music Festival’s LGBTQ+ showcase of artists. girli’s sophomore album is to be released this year with an anticipated world tour.

‘Matriarchy’ Tracklist

Girli - Crush Me Up + Tour Dates
‘Matriarchy’ cover.
  1. Be With Me
  2. Nothing Hurts Like a Girl
  3. Overthinking
  4. Tokyo
  5. Lose My Cool
  6. Her Too
  7. Crush Me Up
  8. Out of Breath
  9. Made to Break
  10. Kind of Stuck
  11. Feel My Feelings
  12. Poser
  13. Matriarchy
  14. Happier Her