Hundred Waters by Jaqueline Verdugo LA-based trio Hundred Waters – comprised of vocalist Nicole Miglis, producer Trayer Tryon and drummer Zach Tetreault – have announced their long awaited new full length, Communicating, is set for a September 14 release via longtime label OWSLA. In conjunction with the announce the band has shared album single “Blanket Me,”a stirring piano-driven epic whose cathartic structure belies the leap in composition, performance, and confidence the band has undergone in the three years since 2014’s critically lauded The Moon Rang Like a Bell. Communicating is a grand and ambitious album with an increased focus on songwriting that energizes more than ever before. At the same time it’s more confidently experimental, unafraid to spike its pop hooks with noise, or build elaborate, fractal-like patterns out of Miglis’s multitracked voice. The album follows the release of their recent Currency EP as well as organizing, curating, and performing at their fourth annual FORM Arcosanti festival.

In the span between albums the band have traveled, separated, reunited, lost a band member, questioned relationships, and strove to understand what it means to be together. At the core of the album is the relationship between band members Nicole Miglis and Trayer Tryon, whose relationship catalyzed the band in 2012. The album raises questions of romantic and non-romantic love, self-realization, growing apart, and finding understanding. To keep it close, the band wrote and recorded at home (the trio maintain a shared living space). Nicole chose to cut herself off from the outside world and recorded vocals in her closet. Tray produced at the kitchen table or wherever he could make room. When things got too close they ought other environments (drums and piano were recorded in a converted Detroit church, for instance). Where Communicating ultimately succeeds is on the most personal, intimate level. It’s a record about breakups, rebirths, searching for peace, getting lost, and discovering unexpected ways of being happy. “From a broad lens,” Miglis says, “the album is a breakup. It starts with a need for independence and it ends with an ‘all better,’ like we did it: we learned, we loved, we separated, and now it’s time for the next chapter.”

The band heads out on a US tour this Fall; three weeks of dates across the length of the country concluding with a performance at Miami’s III Points Festival. At various points Hundred Waters will be supported by Lafawndah and Kelsey Lu – full details and tour dates below.



  • 7/23 – Los Angeles, CA @ FYF Fest7/30 – Oro-Medonte, ON @ Way Home Festival
  • 8/11 – San Francisco, CA @ Outside Lands Festival
  • 9/23 – San Diego @ The Casbah *
  • 9/24 – Phoenix, AZ @ Crescent Ballroom *
  • 9/26 – Salt Lake City @ Kilby Court *
  • 9/27 – Denver, CO @ Bluebird *
  • 9/28 – Kansas City, MO @ Record Bar *
  • 9/29 – Minneapolis, MN @ 7th Street Entry *
  • 9/30 – Chicago, IL @ Empty Bottle *
  • 10/2 – Toronto, ON @ Horseshoe
  • 10/3 – Montreal, QC @ SAT +
  • 10/5 – Boston, MA @ Brighton Music Hall +
  • 10/6 – Washington D.C. @ U Street Music Hall +
  • 10/7 – New York, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg +
  • 10/8 – Philadelphia, PA @ Underground Arts +
  • 10/10 – Atlanta, GA @ The Earl +1
  • 10/12 – Orlando, FL @ The Social +
  • 10/13 – Miami, FL @ iii points festival * w/ Lafawndah+ w/ Kelsey Lu