Sony Music Entertainment and Legacy Recordings have signed virtuoso guitarist Steve Vai to a new multi-album agreement which includes plans to issue two fresh Vai sets in 2015 beginning with the release of Stillness In Motion – Vai Live in L.A. on April 7, 2015.

Vai’s first release under the new SONY/Legacy agreement will be Stillness In Motion – Vai Live in L.A., a spectacular performance recorded October 12, 2012 at Club Nokia in Los Angeles. Available in 2CD and 2DVD configurations, Stillness In Motion revisits the 49th concert from Vai’s monumental Story of Light World Tour.

Running from 2012 through 2014, The Story of Light World Tour totaled out at 253 engagements (including shows, master classes and concerts with various orchestras) in 52 countries.

In addition to the full Club Nokia performance, the 2DVD configuration of Stillness In Motion includes a bonus disc premiering “The Space Between the Notes (Tour Mischief),” a revelatory video diary comprised of more than three and a half hours of footage, lensed around the world on-stage, off-stage and behind-the-scenes during Vai’s epic Story of Light World Tour.

“To say that this tour was a powerful life experience would be like saying the sun is hot,” writes Steve Vai in his personal liner notes penned for Stillness In Motion.

Following Stillness In Motion, SONY/Legacy will release an album of new Steve Vai material, marking a significant next chapter in the musician’s growing canon.

The new multi-album deal marks an SME homecoming for Vai, who set the gold and platinum standard for rock instrumental music across a series of albums released through Relativity and Epic Records from 1990’s game-changing Passion and Warfare (his 2nd album and 1st major label release) through 2007’s orchestral Sound Theories, Vol. I & II.

Vai will be hosting his second Vai Academy — the ultimate guitar experience — August 2-6, in beautiful Vail, Colorado, at The Arrabelle at Vail Square. With the theme All About The Guitar set for this year, attendees will spend four days and nights discovering the intricacies of the guitar while enjoying once-in-a-lifetime clinics, workshops and jams from the likes of Vai and his handpicked guest instructors, including special guests Eric Johnson and Sonny Landreth. Musicians of all ages and levels are welcome. For more information, visit: Closing out the week of Vai Academy, Vai will headline Electric Day at Guitar Town on August 9 in Copper Mountain, Colorado, at The Village at Copper. The annual festival will also include performances that weekend by Eric Johnson, Robben Ford, Sonny Landreth, John Jorgenson and Andy McKee, among others. For more information:

About Steve Vai
Steve Vai, age 12, picked up the guitar in 1973 and started taking lessons from Joe Satriani (another future guitar hero) shortly after. He soaked up influences ranging from Jeff Beck and Jimmy Page to Jimi Hendrix and Brian May and by the end of the 1970s, was transcribing guitar parts for Frank Zappa. He became a full member of Zappa’s band in 1980.

Rapidly becoming one of the most in-demand, versatile, eloquent and soulful sidemen in the business, Vai recorded with Alcatrazz, Whitesnake, David Lee Roth and Public Image Ltd.

He launched his solo career with the release of Flex-Able, a homemade indie album, in 1984. Since 1990, he has recorded and released eight studio albums, eight live albums, two EPs, 12 soundtracks, 20 compilation albums, seven videos and more. Steve Vai has earned 15 Grammy nominations and has won three Grammy Awards and appeared as a guest artist on more than 40 albums, playing with artists like Alice Cooper, Ozzy Osbourne, Gregg Bissonnett and Joe Jackson, among others.

Stillness In Motion – Vai Live in L.A.
Recorded Live at Club Nokia in Los Angeles on October 12, 2012
Produced by Steve Vai

2 CD Edition

Disc 1

  1. Intro/Racing the World
  2. Velorum
  3. Band Intros
  4. Building the Church
  5. Tender Surrender
  6. Gravity Storm
  7. Weeping China Doll
  8. John the Revelator
  9. The Moon and I
  10. The Animal
  11. Whispering a Prayer

Disc 2

  1. The Audience Is Listening
  2. 2Rescue Me or Bury Me
  3. Sisters
  4. Treasure Island
  5. Salamanders In the Sun
  6. Pusa Road
  7. Frank
  8. The Ultra Zone (CD Version)
  9. Build Me a Song L.A.
  10. For The Love of God
  11. Taurus Bulba

2 DVD Edition

Disc 1

  1. Intro/Racing the World
  2. Velorum
  3. Band Intros
  4. Building the Church
  5. Tender Surrender
  6. Gravity Storm
  7. The Trillium’s Launch
  8. Weeping China Doll
  9. John the Revelator
  10. The Moon and I
  11. The Animal
  12. Whispering a Prayer
  13. The Audience Is Listening
  14. Where Are We
  15. Rescue Me or Bury Me
  16. Sisters
  17. Treasure Island
  18. Beastly Rap
  19. Salamanders In the Sun
  20. Pusa Road
  21. Earthquake Sky, Drum Solo
  22. I’m Tired
  23. The Ultra Zone
  24. Frank

Disc 2

  1. Build Me a Song L.A.
  2. For the Love of God
  3. Taurus Bulba

Story of Light Tour: The Space Between the Notes (Tour Mischief)

  1. Leg 1 (Rehearsals/USA)
  2. Leg 2 (Europe/Eastern Europe)
  3. Leg 3 (Vegas/Netherlands/Russia/Ukraine/Europe)
  4. Leg 4 (Australia/NZ/Indonesia/China/S. Korea/Japan/Taiwan/Thailand)
  5. Leg 5 (Europe…again)
  6. Leg 6 (USA…again)
  7. Leg 7 (Mexico/South America/China)
  8. Leg 8 (Vegas/Singapore/Malaysia/Israel/Europe/Russia/Ukraine)
  9. Leg 9 (USA/St. Barths/Japan/France/Poland)