Cooking Vinyl and British supermarket chain Iceland have agreed a major sync deal that puts a new Christmas song from Peter Andre at the heart of the retailer’s big Christmas ad campaign. The track is taken from Andre’s new Christmas album, ‘White Christmas’ which will be exclusively sold through Iceland marking the first time that the company has ever carried music in its chain of over 800 stores.

As the new face of Iceland, Andre has been appearing in a series of TV commercials for the company, and building on this Cooking Vinyl, his management and Iceland worked closely together to come up with something extra special for the Christmas period.

The result is an integrated campaign that sees the use of a new original song “Christmas Time’s For Family”, written by Andre and fellow CV Publishing signing Stevie Appleton, as the soundtrack to the series of ten and 30 second adverts, which are being aired across all major channels. The track recently received its first radio airplay on Paddy McGuiness’ Sunday show on Bauer Radio, and is currently available to preorder ahead of its official release on December 8th.

‘White Christmas’ will be sold across Iceland stores from the 11th November, with Andre’s recent Top 25 album ‘Big Night’ also made available to buy. As well as “Christmas Time’s For Family”, the album sees Andre covering such classics as “Rockin’ Around The Christmas Tree”, “White Christmas”, “Last Christmas” and “Jingle Bell Rock”. Full tracklist below.

John Black of CAN Management noted: “Pete’s music is his biggest passion, so to be able to tie that into this project has been amazing. It’s also fantastic that Iceland really believe in him as an artist in driving sales of music in their stores for first time.”

The deal is one of a number of heavyweight sync placements made following the appointment of Cooking Vinyl Head of Sync Verity Griffiths six months ago. This includes the use of Adam Cohen’s track “We Go Home” as part of Vodafone’s “Tokio Calling” campaign in Germany, The Prodigy’s “Invaders Must Die” on Guinness’ new Africa campaign, and placements for Marilyn Manson, The Virginmarys, The Pretty Reckless, Calling All Cars, 65daysofstatic and Treetop Flyers.

Verity Griffiths said: “The diversity of talent across Cooking Vinyl’s roster means we’re able to offer companies and brands sync that are bespoke for their campaigns. In this sense working with Peter and the team at Iceland has been fantastic, and with so many more sync opportunities to explore for our artists and writers the months ahead look very exciting as well.”

Martin Goldschmidt, MD of Cooking Vinyl added: “These deals really demonstrate the great work that Verity has been doing since joining us, and I’m positive that this is just the tip of the iceberg in terms of growing our sync activity.”

Peter Andre is an accomplished global media star known for his successful music and television career, including numerous #1 hit singles, two #1 albums and a multitude of TV projects. Music has always been his first passion though, and the recent release of his new big band/soul inspired album ‘Big Night’ has seen him move in a new direction that may not have been expected, but is exactly where he wants to be musically.

Released in May through his own label Andre Music, via Cooking Vinyl, the album chartered at #23 in the UK Official Album Chart and was followed by a recent 23 date UK tour. In another significant sync for the team, first single “Kid” was chosen to be the official song for the DreamWorks animated movie Mr Peabody and Sherman, as well as featuring in the TV advertising campaign.

White Christmas tracklist:

  1. Rockin’ Around The Christmas Tree
  2. Let It Snow
  3. White Christmas
  4. Christmas Time’s For Family
  5. I Saw Mommy Kissing Santa Claus
  6. Jingle Bell Rock
  7. Last Christmas
  8. Most Wonderful Time Of The Year
  9. Driving Home For Christmas
  10. Silent Night

About Cooking Vinyl
Established in 1986, Cooking Vinyl has developed a reputation as one of Europe’s prime artist-focused independent labels, inspiring an enviable loyalty among its artist roster. It is also in the vanguard of music companies offering innovative services-only deals that claim no stake in artists’ copyrights.

Cooking Vinyl takes full responsibility for the management of a project whether working via a traditional royalty-based deal or in a label services capacity. Adding more than just marketing muscle, Cooking Vinyl devises and implements worldwide sales, marketing and distribution plans for its artists, working alongside booking agents and artist managers.

Artists signed to Cooking Vinyl include Embrace, Röyksopp, James, Amanda Palmer, The Prodigy, Marilyn Manson and Billy Bragg. Such is the loyalty and affection among artists for the label that the likes of Frank Black have returned close to 20 times to record fresh collections with them. The Prodigy’s Invaders Must Die was Europe’s biggest selling independent album in 2009.

Cooking Vinyl Records is a member of the CV Group of companies, which include Essential Music & Marketing, CV America, Cooking Vinyl Group France, Cooking Vinyl Group Germany, Cooking Vinyl Publishing and Cooking Vinyl Property.