Plymouth turbo-charged-indie-punk trio WOAHNOWS are pleased to announce that their debut album ‘Understanding and Everything Else’ will be released on 4th May 2015 via Big Scary Monsters Records.

To celebrate the news, the band are streaming new single ‘Sounds Like Spitting’ in full here:

As far as short, sharp bursts of concentrated, visceral fun go, you don’t need to look much further than this band. Their raucous blend of Latterman meets Cloud Nothings and Tubelord is riddled with infectious Dananananaykroyd-esque guitar work and gang vocals that are packed full of hooks and earworms.

The new material builds on the frenzied, joyful punk of previous tracks ‘Watching Accidents’ and ‘Life In Reverse’ but cements the WOAHNOWS sound as a frenetic, fast paced and honed-down concoction that’s still distorted and heavy but gains a more mature clarity and now courses with vivid emotion.

After spending 2014 out on the road with friends in bands including Brawlers, Bangers and Gnarwolves plus appearances at a host of festivals including Camden Crawl, Truck Festival 2000 Trees and Y Not Fest, they’re already solidifying their fan base throughout the UK ahead of this year’s album release. With early support at BBCR1, Amazing Radio, Rock Sound, DIY, Artrocker, The 405 and more, this could be the year that punk gets its fun back.

‘Understanding and Everything Else’ is released 4th May 2015 via Big Scary Monsters.


  • 14th March – Clear Your Throat Festival – Chameleon Arts Café – Nottingham
  • 19th March – Southampton – XWWX Art Gallery
  • 20th March – Cambridge – The Corner House
  • 21st March – Cheltenham – The 2 Pigs
  • 22nd March – Blackburn – Blackburn is Open
  • 23rd March – Durham – Empty Shop
  • 24th March – London – The Stillery (free show)
  • 1st – 3rd May – Handmade Festival – Leicester
  • 9th – 11th July – 2000 Trees Festival – Cheltenham

Woahnows are:
Tim Rowing Parker – guitar & vocals
Adam Wherly – drums
Dan James – bass

What people are saying:

“Make your day 147% more punk” – Rock Sound
“Summer is coming and WOAHNOWS are the soundtrack” – DIY
“Be ready to throw yourself around your house and to scream your voice bloody” – The 405
“Punchy, straight to the point…pulls you close and then kicks you square in the bollocks” – Artrocker
“Skittish, sunny punk rock which takes cues from the likes of Japandroids” – AbsolutePunk
“Grungy-fused punk with heartfelt vocals and massive sounding basslines” – Goldflakepaint


Photo by Leigh Drinkwater