1. B61 Aoife O’Donovan 3:34

Aoife O’Donovan has released her new single titled ‘B61’, ahead of her new album ‘Age Of Apathy’, dropping January 21st, 2022 via Yep Roc Records.

The song comes up to you like an old friend on that first listen. An old weathered friend with the knowledge of the world riding on her shoulders. Her voice is simply, and un-simply, original. In every aspect of the word. It conveys moods that are found behind the lyrics. The complexities behind the simple words. That is the sign of a true artist. We think more than we hear; if we listen. Beauty is in the eye of the beholder, but true beauty is within the mind between the ears.

Featured image by Omar Cruz.

About ‘B61’

First conceptualized on a piano in Aoife’s New York apartment, “B61” truly crystallized upon the addition of David Piltch’s swaying bass and the slight swells of Jay Bellerose’s drums. Delicately wrought and gorgeously orchestrated, today’s release previews the hypnotizing ethos of her new record Age Of Apathy, out January 21st on Yep Roc Records.

Produced by GRAMMY-winner Joe Henry (Bonnie Raitt, Rhiannon Giddens), Age Of Apathy places O’Donovan’s vocals front and center. With melodies distinct and beautiful, delicate yet heartwrenching, she carves out a joyful existence amid grim forecasts of the future. Last month, the New York Times called her single “Prodigal Daughter” “a musical hint at multi-generational bonds,” adding that “as drama and tension rise, [O’Donovan’s] voice grows quieter and clearer.”

​​Watch a gorgeous performance of the track with guest vocalist Allison Russell, filmed backstage at Newport Folk Festival earlier this year, below.

Recorded through a unique residency with Full Sail University in Winter Park, FL, Aoife worked both on-site at their studio with GRAMMY-nominated engineer Darren Schneider while collaborating entirely remotely with Henry. Remote collaborations introduced unexpected rhythms and textures into the architecture of the songs, allowing O’Donovan to bend her sound into more expansive shapes. The result: an enveloping soundworld that singularly showcases Aoife’s masterful songwriting and emergent literary prowess.

About Aoife O’Donovan

Aoife O’Donovan operates in a thrilling musical world beyond genre. Deemed “a vocalist of unerring instinct” by The New York Times, she has previously released two critically-acclaimed and boundary-blurring solo albums including In the Magic Hour, which Rolling Stone hailed for its “Impressionistic, atmospheric songs [that] relay their narratives against gorgeous pastoral backdrops.”

A savvy and generous collaborator, Aoife is one third of the group I’m With Her with bandmates Sara Watkins and Sarah Jarosz. The trio’s debut album, See You Around, was hailed as “willfully open-hearted” by NPR Music. I’m With Her earned an Americana Music Association Award in 2019 for Duo/Group of the Year, and a Grammy-award in 2020 for Best American Roots Song.

O’Donovan spent the preceding decade as co-founder and frontwoman of the string band, Crooked Still and is the featured vocalist and a songwriting contributor on The Goat Rodeo Sessions – the group with Yo-Yo Ma, Stuart Duncan, Edgar Meyer, and Chris Thile. She has appeared as a featured vocalist with over a dozen symphonies including the National Symphony Orchestra, written for Alison Krauss, performed with jazz trumpeter Dave Douglas, and spent a decade as a regular contributor to the radio variety shows “Live From Here” and “A Prairie Home Companion.”

'Age of Apathy' cover.
‘Age of Apathy’ cover.

‘Age of Apathy’ Tracklist

  1. Sister Starling
  2. B61
  3. Phoenix
  4. Age Of Apathy
  5. Elevators
  6. Prodigal Daughter
  7. Galahad
  8. Town Of Mercy
  9. Lucky Star
  10. What Do You Want From Yourself?
  11. Passengers