Tech-tastically brilliant in scope and melodically retro-adventerous in execution, Black Needle Noise, a.k.a. John Fryer has officially declared his new single, “Neon Noir” released. This time with the guise of Dr. Strangefryer, “Neon Noir” conjurs up a rhythm that evokes the new wave of old with the essential synth-pop and industrial flavors mixed in the bowl that is the mind of a genius and seared in the Fryer that is John’s mind. This is what happens when originality and experience collide.

The new album from Black Needle Noise, titled “Lost in Reflections” drops July 13th. Pre-order HERE.

Lost In Reflections (album cover)
Lost In Reflections (album cover)

About Black Needle Noise
Artist-producer legend John Fryer has announced the second Black Needle Noise album ‘Lost in Reflections’, to be released on July 13, but is first teasing the single ‘Neon Noir’ with Dr. Strangefryer. Now based in L.A., John Fryer dishes up his trademark goodness and lush atmospheres with layered richness, experimental tones, effects and melodies.

As one of the most innovative sonic architects of our age, “John Fryer has practically soundtracked your entire life” (Impose Magazine). His musical imprint is massive, having shaped the sound of bands from Nine Inch Nails and Cocteau Twins to HIM and Depeche Mode. He is also one of just two masterminds behind This Mortal Coil (along with Ivo Watts-Russell – not only producing, but also keyboards, strings and synthesizer sequencing).

A sense of expectation about his music has never left him – expectations he has exceeded on this new album, his collaboration with numerous artists resulting in stunning output in ‘Lost In Reflections’, a collection of 11 tracks featuring Bill Leeb (Front Line Assembly, Delirium), Mimi Page (Delirium), Jennie Vee (also bassist in Hole), Ana Breton (Dead Leaf Echo), Omniflux (Puscifer), Kendra Frost (Kite Base), Andrea Kerr (Colt), Sivert Hoyem, ZiaLand and Dr. Strangefryer.

John Fryer started his career in 1979 at London’s Blackwing Studios (London) and soon began working with seminal bands on the 4AD, Mute, Rough Trade and Beggars Banquet record labels, including Depeche Mode, The Wolfgang Press and Cocteau Twins. His achievement in helping develop the latter’s pioneering ethereal and ambient sound ultimately led Watts-Russell to recruit Fryer as his partner for This Mortal Coil.

He’s produced many other groundbreaking artists, including Love and Rockets, Swans, HIM, Cradle of Filth, Clan of Xymox, Nitzer Ebb, Dead Can Dance, Yaz (Yazoo), Xmal Deutschland, Fields of the Nephilim, De/Vision, Stabbing Westward, Jesus Jones, Swallow, M|A|R|R|S (A.R.Kane & Colourbox), Kristin Hersh and many others. He also produced the soundtracks to films such as Seven, Clerks, Johnny Mnemonic, Mortal Kombat, Faust and Resident Evil: Apocalypse.

twitter25@johnfryer666 [rotatingtweets screen_name=’johnfryer666′]


The album title ‘Lost In Reflections’ is significant. “Its like day dreaming, you sit there and get lost in thought, lost in the music, it takes you away to another dimension. Stand in a room full of mirrors and your reflection goes on for ever and you can’t find the real you in there anymore, the reflections have taken over. the music conjures thoughts of things/moods that have had happened or you wish had happened or even something you hope will happen,” explains John Fryer.

This album is a continuation or extension of the first Black Needle Noise album ‘Before The Tears Came’ (2016), which featured Jarboe (Swans), Elena Alice Fossi (Kirlian Camera and Spectra Paris), and Ledfoot, among others.

“I am always surprised where the singers take the songs – they always take them higher to a new level. I never have a pre-conceived notion of where the song could go but when they send the vocals back I always get a ‘wow’ moment and shivers down the spine when I listen to what they have done and where they have taken the song. I am so eternally grateful to them all,” says John Fryer. “About ‘Neon Noir’, I was asked to write a theme tune for a movie set in the later 80s, they wanted something to sound electro and of the time. The lyrics were inspired by Christiane F. and B-Moive: Lust & Sound.”.

‘Lost in Reflections’ will be released on July 13, but is already available to stream on Black Needle Noise’s Bandcamp. This album arrives on the tail of news of his joint release with David Lynch muse Chrysta Bell (also known as Special Agent Tammy Preston in the new Twin Peaks series). They have paid “homage to the infinitely haunting and enduring music of Twin Peaks” with a cover of ‘Falling’ by Julee Cruise, Angelo Badalamenti and David Lynch.


  1. Treasured Lies with ZiaLand
  2. Warning Sign with Kendra Frost
  3. She Stands On A Storm with Andrea Kerr
  4. Heaven with Jennie Vee
  5. This Kind Of Road with Kendra Frost
  6. Teeth To Grey with Omniflux
  7. Swimming Through Dreams with Mimi Page
  8. And Nothing Remains with Ana Breton
  9. A Shiver Of Want with Bill Leeb
  10. Breathless Speechless with Sivert Hoyem
  11. Neon Noir with Dr. Strangefryer

“An intimate capsule of mood and story that moves cohesively while bringing a singular feeling and unique weight to each song. It truly is “music for movies you haven’t seen yet” – from the artist who produced music for the indelible, iconic film Seven”
– Disarm Magazine

“John Fryer has practically soundtracked your entire life”
– Impose Magazine

“Fryer, who has produced everyone from Love and Rockets to Dead Can Dance, is one of the most innovative sonic architects in the business–his moody compositions are nuanced and always compelling”
– Stereo Embers Magazine

“A revolving door of beauty and celebrated diversity. Powerful, mesmerizing, spacious and penetrating”
– Big Takeover

“Wonderfully warped – dark, gorgeous and brooding with raw energy, almost like an epic movie, with tranquil and chaotic parts”
– The Spill Magazine

“Explores the deepest, darkest parts of human existence alongside possible rays of hope. Fryer creates moments that will both set the listener on edge as well as lull them in with hypnotic ease”
– Somewherecold

“Lost in Reflections is a kaleidoscope of musical treasures…each track a new and colorful facet of John Fryer’s genius. His ability to pick collaborators is uncanny, their words seamlessly meld with his soundscapes in a way that’s nothing short of magic”
– Echosynthetic