As if taken from an incomplete snippet from a transparent daze, Christopher Sky’s new track titled ‘End of An Era’ sonically delivers just that by taking on a trance-like state, then stopping abruptly as if to leave the imagination to its newly enlightened senses. This is an exploration in sound that is meant to immerse the listener and leave the rest to the imagination.

On November 9, the ‘Vastness’ LP was released on vinyl through Aagoo Records and digitally via Hidden Shoal. Already now, this vinyl can be ordered from Aagoo Records and the digital album on Bandcamp. This will be followed by the UK and European tour dates in December 2018.

About Christopher Sky & ‘Vastness’
Aagoo Records has announced the forthcoming release of ‘Vastness’, the third full-length album from LA-based composer and multi-instrumentalist Christopher Sky (a.k.a. Christopher Garcia).

This album follows up his ‘By the Ocean’ EP, released in January of this year – his first solo work in seven years. A rare one, this limited edition bone-colored vinyl is limited to a run of only 75 copies via Aagoo Records. Here, once again, he offers shimmering compositions that feel boundless despite their brevity.

The lead track off this LP is ‘End of an Era’, a slightly dark, but lovely and mysterious song, about which Sky says “I picture a box opening and sounds pouring out”.

Employing guitar, Rhodes piano, electronics and loops, Christopher Sky crafts soundscapes that feel boundless and expansive. Constantly evolving, each piece adopts nuanced textural and rhythmic motifs as both narrative devices and atmospheric signifiers.

Counting Ryuichi Sakamoto, Erik Satie, The Album Leaf, and Christian Fennesz as influences, Sky’s deft handling of space and scale delivers some truly beatific vistas that are both inviting and transportive.

Perfectly placed incidental sounds are mapped out across the album’s duration. Rather than serving as instrumental adornments, they become musical signposts. As with William Basinski’s Disintegration Loops, the act of listening becomes an exploration of the details, while being gently guided by the ambiance.

Whether employing glitchy Rhodes tones, crackling static or eerie reverberating percussion, Sky masterfully creates and sustains an atmosphere, then transforms it subtly, carrying the listener effortlessly through and between tracks with finesse.


  1. As She Sleeps
  2. By The Ocean
  3. End Of An Era
  4. Gold For Silver
  5. I’ve Been Here Before
  6. In A Room
  7. Lavender Dream
  8. Months Away
  9. Morning Ritual
  10.  You’ve Been Gone Too Long

“This is a fine piece of work, triggering chilled and sometimes dark dreamery, always taking you to a great place. Christopher Sky once again shares a space-drift vibe in a range of pleasurable frequencies”
– The Record Stache