David J has always had a haunting presence, in my opinion, in a quiet enigma kind of way, which adds to the subtle sincerity of his work, whether it be his music or his writing. And now he is joined by the equally artistic and talented Rose McGowan with their new collaboration titled ‘The Auteur’ (Redux/The Starlet’s Cut). ‘The Auteur’ is a dream-like structure in audio form that captivates the lucid senses. Listen to it from the perspective of a piece of sonic artwork and not so much a song and you will hear that slight sliver of bliss that comes with a spark of genius.

The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet’s Cut)’ will be released on June 14 digitally everywhere and is available as a 2-track version (with instrumental) exclusively from Glass Modern Records HERE.

About ‘The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet’s Cut)’
David J (Bauhaus, Love and Rockets) presents ‘The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet’s Cut)’, a digital-only single featuring actress, activist and writer Rose McGowan. This release serves as a taster for his forthcoming double album ‘Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure’, which is set for release on Glass Modern Records in autumn.

The track features a stellar line up of musicians, including Paul Wallfisch (Swans), Larry Mullins AKA Toby Dammit ( Nick Cave And The Bad Seeds), Sean Eden (Luna) and Emily Jane White (backing vox). The accompanying video was created by Scott Saw of Fuze Studios.

“The original version of ‘The Auteur’ was released as part of an EP in 2002, an old song that tells a much older story but one which in light of the whole #metoo movement now has an addendum,” says David J.

“The most vocal proponent of that righteous call for respect and culpability, Rose McGowan, makes a fitting and emotional appearance on this brand new version’s reprise. Rose told me that she related to the lyrics on a very personal level and, because of this, she is also considering recording her own version of the song.”

twitter25@davidjhaskins [rotatingtweets screen_name=’davidjhaskins’]

David J has spent the last eight months touring the world with Peter Murphy on the massively successful. Ruby Rising 40 Years of Bauhaus Tour, covering multiple countries across four continents.

David also recently offered two limited edition vinyl releases for Record Store Day: a remastered and expanded version of ‘V for Vendetta’ in Britain (via Glass Modern) and, in North America, the ‘Thoughts and Prayers’ 7″ single (via Schoolkids Records), performing Emily Jane White’s ‘Hole in the Middle’ as b-side. In autumn of 2018, he also reissued his seminal album ‘Crocodile Tears and The Velvet Cosh’ and released ‘Oracle of the Horizontal’ with Duende, both on vinyl via Glass Modern.


  • David J – Vocals
  • Rose McGowan – Lead female vocal
  • Emily Jane White – Backing vocals
  • Paul Wallfisch – Piano, bass guitar, Wurlitzer, backing vocals
  • Sean Eden – Electric guitar
  • Larry Mullins – Drums
  • Heather Paauwe – Violin, viola
  • Eleanor Norton – Cello
  • Strings arranged by Paul Wallfisch

Engineered and mixed by Paul Wallfisch
additional engineering by Tony Green
Produced by David J and Paul Wallfisch
Instrumental Version mixed by Paul Wallfisch
Catalogue GLAMSD002