1. Freakshow Dalton Deschain & The Traveling Show 5:19

Non-conformist in every way conceivable and breaking every rule written by the establishment when it comes to commercially acceptable music, Dalton Deschain and The Traveling Show re-write the revolution with their new track “Freakshow” by combining elements of industrial, punk, eclectic elements of horror, and alt-rock. Yes. folks, this must be heard to be believed, but it works. In every way possible. It does this by not throwing it’s own originality in your face and, by doing so, Dalton Deschain and The Traveling Show show that they have the confidence to pull it off.


twitter25@daltondeschain [rotatingtweets screen_name=’daltondeschain’]



Dalton Deschain & The Traveling Show - Roberta
Dalton Deschain & The Traveling Show – Roberta

About Dalton Deschain & The Traveling Show
Dalton Deschain & The Traveling Show have announced they will release the forthcoming ‘Roberta’ EP, based around a circus-inspired tale and slated for release on October 28. In the lead-up, they are releasing the highly animated single ‘Freakshow’.

This is the latest entry in the band’s ongoing horror-punk-antifolk saga about demon possession, circuses, and nuclear warfare. The ‘Roberta’ EP tells the story of a trans woman living in the 1940s, who finds love with a stagehand for a traveling sideshow. The band’s sound falls in suit with several other punk cabaret outfits such as Dresden Dolls, The Tiger Lillies, Vermillion Lies and Mardi Gras style gypsy fusion act The Urban Voodoo Machine.

The opening track and single ‘Freakshow’ is an anthem of defiance with aggressive vocals shouted over distorted bass and a heavy dance beat. This then transitions to ‘Different Constellations’, a softer B-side, performing as a guitar-and-accordion-based duet between vocalists Dalton Deschain and Jo Kroger.

“The idea for Freakshow came to me last fall when I was doing a lot of listening to the Talking Heads and the Cramps. I started wondering if there was a way to combine the groove-based writing of the Talking Heads with the dark, atmospheric horrorshow sound of the Cramps, and then I threw that all in a blender with a circus calliope, and what came out was Freakshow,” explains Dalton Deschain.

Dalton Deschain & The Traveling Show
Dalton Deschain & The Traveling Show

“Lyrically, I had been doing a lot of reflecting on how the bands that meant the most to me growing up were bands that wrote songs about empowering the listener, not about themselves. A lot of those bands are responsible for me having the courage to follow the music in the first place and leaving the Midwest. There are 10 million songs already made to empower people like me, but Freakshow is made for the people that don’t have a lot of songs written about them, that don’t always get representation and encouragement, and write a song to tell them that they’re so much stronger than our culture tells them they are.”

Following ‘The Collateral Vignettes’ EP released in 2014, this new EP highlights the band’s flair for the dramatic, as well as their ability to create catchy melodies in a variety of genres.

‘Roberta’ is the first in a series of three EPs that will each be accompanied by a chapbook of stories and illustrations by the band, which each contribution to this series focusing on a different character in the band’s ongoing musical narrative. Each copy contains a download code, a short story written by Deschain himself, lyrics, and illustrations by David Warpaint.

Dalton Deschain & The Traveling Show
Dalton Deschain & The Traveling Show

Dalton Deschain & The Traveling Show are a time-traveling, universe-hopping collective of musicians, nuclear techs, and carnival freaks, who have been performing art-theater-circus-punk events in NYC and Detroit areas since 1947. They weave a complex sci-fi/ horror story into an ever-expanding set of catchy and intricately composed songs, ranging stylistically from furious punk to beautiful spacey ballads.

The band has grown a cult following locally through their off-kilter shows, including their annual Devil’s Night party and a recent performance, where they covered the entirety of Hedwig & The Angry Inch to a sold-out crowd in Brooklyn. Hooks, dance beats, ugly riffs, and sci-fi lyrics promise a show and a listening experience that is wholly unique and infectious.

“A high-energy animated offering… “Freakshow” is sizzling ripe bait for the new EP, underlining the band’s penchant for dramatism and mastery in uniting creative elements one would not otherwise conceive could be combined”
– The Spill Magazine

“Successfully blends several sub-genres of music with a raucous vibe and warped themes… infectious high-energy music, capable of boosting your blood pressure and exploring themes that are simply unparalleled”
– The Record Stache

“Fast, loud and gruff “circus punk”… the imagination that went into this EP – from fantastical concept to composition and delivery – is so much greater than anything produced by most modern bands”
– Stereo Embers Magazine

Dalton Deschain – Vocals, Guitar
Jo Kroger – Vocals
Craig Kierce – Guitar
Michael Kennedy – Bass
Phil Harris – Drums


  • Sept 8 Boston – Out of the Blue Too (with Emily Einhorn & Ferdinand the Bull)
  • Sept 28 New York – Pianos downstairs (with Maude Gun, Shapiro Brothers & MNR PLSR)
  • Oct. 27 New York- Sidewalk Cafe (‘Roberta’ album release show)
  • Nov. 4 Pittsburgh, PA – Black Forge Coffee House (with Danvers)
  • Nov. 6 Washington, DC – The Velvet Lounge (with Lonely Ocean, Ménage Á Garage)