Feel Alive
Feel Alive

‘Feel Alive’, released on May 15th, is feelgood anthemic pop, perfect listening in the summer sunshine and a great introduction to the music of Aleks Grey.

Born in Volda, Norway, Aleks was introduced to music through classical piano lessons when he was just three years old, but he was soon drawn to blues, soul and rock and roll. By the age of ten he was writing his own songs and by twelve he had become an accomplished guitarist.

Acutely shy, Aleks had never dared to sing publicly until one of his best friends forced him to audition for a part in a musical. Aleks was successful and performed in three musicals (Rent, West Side Story and Les Miserables), and had leading roles in each one. He also went on tour with Fame – the musical.

At sixteen Aleks founded his band The Last Province with a group of friends. They played several festivals including Malakoff in 2011 and had their first single ‘Lullaby’ playlisted on Norway’s national radio station NRK P1.

2013 saw Aleks starting his solo project, Aleks Grey, recording his first singles ‘Starlight’ and ‘Born’ at Urban Sound Studios in Oslo. Both singles got airplay at NRK P1, Amazing Radio and BBC Introducing. In July 2013 Aleks played Malakoff Rock Festival and won a grant for best young act.

A move to Liverpool in 2013 allowed Aleks to connect with his current backing band, and he kept writing, recording, releasing and performing. In May 2014 Aleks and his band played The First Look Festival at Paul McCartney’s performing arts school, LIPA. His last single ‘When You Are Home’ was released in November 2014, and again was played by NRK P1 and BBC Introducing.

In December 2014 Aleks embarked on his first tour of Norway performing six gigs in the Western Part of the country. His final date of the tour was a Christmas Concert with noteable Norwegian artists Eva & The Heartmaker and Tone Damli. This show was aired on Norwegian national television three times over the Christmas period.

The Band:
Aleksander Raftevold (Aleks Grey) – vocal/piano/synth/guitar
Reece Cairns – Drums/pad
Eline Brun – bv/piano/synth
Andreas Oxholm – bv/bass
Andreas Skuggen – guitar