1. What We Want STFU 4:32

Droning in complexity and drowning in creativity is the best way to describe “What We Want”, the new single from STFU’s new album of the same name. Taking nods from industrial, post-modern electronica, as well as the inner realms of their minds, STFU has created an atmosphere of ethereal journey into the hypnotic state while delivering sonic muses and pulsing beats.


twitter25@STFU_HQ [rotatingtweets screen_name=’STFU_HQ’]



About STFU
Alternative electronic maverick producer Dean Garcia, the musical mastermind behind seminal alternative rock band Curve and electronic dream pop duo SPC ECO, has joined forces with Preston Maddox of post-punk noise rock band Bloody Knives in a new project, called S T F U.

Their debut LP ‘What We Want’, slated for release on July 29, is laced with unfolding hypnotic loops that gradually progress to uptempo electronica, trip-hop laden beats, lush noise entwined with shimmering synths, and Maddox’s hazy trance-like vocals.

The title track ‘What We Want’ is also the first single. “My favorite thing about this track is it has a filthy quality to it that is essential, like being immersed in the pollution of our dystopian future where everything is covered in layers and layers of filth,” says Preston Maddox.

“We took about three months from beginning to end to conceive and record. Without a doubt, this is the most painless and connected record I have made outside of my close family. A surprising inspiring and joyful set of events and recordings,” explains Dean Garcia. “It kind of made itself as in there was never any doubt or soul searching as to what it should could or want to be. It just was its own self from start to finish, we just made it happen.”


Apart from his nearly 15-year history with Curve and his decade-long project SPC ECO with daughter Rose Berlin, Dean Garcia has also toured the world several times and recorded multiple albums with such established artists as Eurythmics, Mick Jagger, Jeff Beck, Bryan Ferry, Sinead O’Connor and Ian Dury. Apart from Preston Maddox’s involvement in Bloody Knives and S T F U, he will also be playing bass with UK punk band Conflict on their upcoming US tour.

While their many commonalities and common circle of friends are what originally brought these two artists together, the debut S T F U album came to life in two separate studios. London is now home for Dean Garcia, while Preston Maddox is based in Austin, Texas.

“There is an advantage to being able to do what you want on your own musically. It puts you in the position to always work with someone because you want to, not because you have to, and I’m very fortunate to have that,” explains Preston Maddox. “Making cool music is the most important thing, and when you are working with the right people its the easiest thing to do too.”

‘What We Want’ is being made available via the S T F U Bandcamp. It also features a free hidden gem, called ‘Paralyzed’, which was recorded around the same time as the other songs on this album and features separately on the M A D album ‘Slow Mo’ with Steve Monti (Curve, Jesus & Mary Chain). Find it at http://mad-hq.bandcamp.com.


  1. Secret – 04:48
  2. Second Time – 03:58
  3. Do It Now – 05:01
  4. Dead Right – 05:48
  5. New Shadows – 05:59
  6. Deeper – 05:03
  7. What We Want – 04:34
  8. A Thousand Cuts – 03:35
  9. Trickery – 05:15
  10. Slow – 03:19
  11. Promise – 05:31
  12. Paralyzed – 05:35 (hidden track)

Produced and Mixed by Dean Garcia
Recorded by Dean Garcia and Preston Maddox
Recorded in London, UK – Texas, USA
All songs written by Preston Maddox and Dean Garcia
Preston Maddox – Vocals and Lyrics
Dean Garcia – Bass, Drums, Guitars. Keyboards, Programming

“The output is delectable and dark, yet near trance-inducing for some songs. Lead track ‘What We Want’ is a grade-A, memorable slow burner” – The Spill Magazine

“S T F U craftily lures you in – hook, line, and sinker – in a Bermuda Triangle with elements of Curve, Massive Attack and The Verve interwoven together” – Overblown Magazine

“Part industrial electronica and part dream pop, meeting somewhere in the dark middle… a hint of darkness and noise, and a dash of pop” – Austin Town Hall

“Infused with slowly unfurling, hypnotic loops, menacingly creeping to fast-paced electronics, trip-hop-inflected beats, winding to shimmering synths, a plethora of melodic noise, and Maddox’s broodingly hazy, lightly dazed vocals” – Jen Dan, Rebel Noise