1. The Parts That Need Replacing The Academy of Sun 3:28

The Academy of Sun has dropped their new single titled ‘The Parts That Need Replacing’. Executed with a modern suave flare and that cool croon via Nick Hudson, ‘The Parts That Need Replacing’ delivers sustenance within that creative void yearning for that certain something that gives the listener a reinvigorated sense of imagination with a varied track full of diverse hooks from a group of musicians that create from pure passion of the craft.

On March 13, ‘The Parts That Need Replacing’ will be available across online stores and streaming platforms such as Spotify. The full album ‘The Quiet Earth’ will be released on April 24 on CD, as well as digitally.

About The Academy of Sun

British psychedelic post-punk outfit The Academy of Sun announce they will be releasing their new album ‘The Quiet Earth’, an expansive album of breathtaking ambition, in April. Ahead of this, they present the highly dynamic power pop-infused lead single ‘The Parts That Need Replacing’.

‘The Quiet Earth’ offers a colossal meditation on dystopia, irradiated landscapes and extreme states of human emotion, taking in post-punk, chamber ballads and darkly prog studio epics. This 15-track collection was recorded at Church Road Studios in Hove, with Paul Pascoe, whose studio work includes the last 2 albums by Barry Adamson of Magazine / Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds fame.

‘The Quiet Earth’ follows their ‘Codex Novena’ LP (2017), a hypnotic, doomy opus that found its way onto both Dangerous Minds and Sweeping The Nation end-of-year lists, and more recent singles ‘The House’ and ‘Rose Devoid of Form’.

Formed in Brighton nine years ago, The Academy of Sun is a four-piece comprised of Nick Hudson (piano, synths, Hammond organ, harmonium, vocals, percussion, synths), Kianna Blue (bass, synths), Guy Brice (guitars) and Ash Babb (drums). They present dystopian fantastic creations that combine the deeply personal and the poetically arcane – that are dark yet buoyant – a controlled explosion of psychedelic and dark power pop with atmospheres couched in vast and expansive landscapes and cinematic arrangements.

“The Parts That Need Replacing’ was written to sate my desire to ‘reconsecrate’ 16th Century Hungarian countess and noblewoman Elisabeth Bathory, whose reputed cannibalism and serial murders were most likely reputation-staining fantasies dreamed up by the church out of institutional jealousy. How could a woman possess such vast wealth and estates AND resist conformity with the church’s ways of being. Same tarring-brush as used on Jeanne D’Arc and Gilles de Rais,” says Nick Hudson.

“Usually Bathory is immortalized in doom and black metal, so I wanted this reconsecration to take place by feeding these myths, scenarios, and allegations of bloodbaths, black magic, and eternal life into the medium of a hyper-catchy, high-energy pop song. (Replete with puns on her name, special effects in modern Hollywood, botched haircuts…) Also perversely I, of course, wanted to write an extremely catchy song with horrific lyrics to get people blithely singing along!”

Nick Hudson’s musical juggernaut has been active in various incarnations since 2012, always transcending expectations. The Academy Of Sun has collaborated with Massive Attack’s Shara Nelson, members of NYC’s Kayo Dot, David Tibet of Current 93, Asva and Matthew Seligman (Bowie, Tori Amos, Morrissey). Hudson has also collaborated with Wayne Hussey of The Mission, as well as Canadian queercore icon GB Jones.

twitter25@theacademyofsun [rotatingtweets screen_name=’theacademyofsun’]

Known for explosive and psychedelic live shows, The Academy Of Sun has performed in a medieval castle in Italy, a boat on the Thames, an abandoned railway carriage in Offenbach, colossal churches, The London College of Fashion, The Old Market theatre in Brighton, the MS Stubnitz in Hamburg, Brighton Dome, and a string of L.A. shows in late 2019. Having toured 3 continents, highlights include appearances with Mogwai, Toby Driver and Keith Abrams from Kayo Dot, and Timba Harris (Mr Bungle, Amanda Palmer).


Nick Hudson – piano, synths, Hammond organ, harmonium, vocals, percussion, synths, writing, arranging, co-producing
Kianna Blue – bass, synths, additional writing, co-producing
Guy Brice – lots of guitars, additional writing, co-producing
Ash Babb – drums, additional writing, co-producing
Music and lyrics were written by Nick Hudson. Arranged by TAOS.
Paul Pascoe – engineer, mix, mastering. Church Road Studios Hove, UK.
Cover artwork by Ash Babb
Black and white photos by Liene Lisovska. Color photos by Rob Orchard