Evidence has released his new video for the track titled ‘Better You’. In a world that is grey, it makes sense to convey the message in black and white. We need absolution in times like these. With that being said, the stark visual acts as a guide for the in your face lyrics and brash beats that serve as a march for the music and a brash announcement for the words. Elegance is in the edginess.

About Evidence

Known for his consistently creative approach to visuals, Evidence unveiled the track when he surprised fans with an early pre-release of the official “Better You” music video. The dramatic video, shot and directed by Stephen Vanasco, reveals a starkly contrasted black & white setting, accented by reflective elements throughout – visuals that complement the interplay between the track’s darkly sinister drums and Ev’s sanguine, reflective lyrics. The imaginative visual concepts also carry throughout the cover art for Unlearning Vol. 1, where a jigsaw collage shows multiple forms of Evidence in his many phases of creation, envisioned and meticulously assembled by renowned artist/designer Brent Rollins.

Evidence’s last solo album, Weather Or Not, was critically and commercially acclaimed, drawing attention from Billboard, Pitchfork, DJ Booth, and more, as well as being voted 2018’s best album of the year by readers on Ambrosia For Heads. Following the release, in interviews with No Jumper and DJ Booth, Evidence offered insight into his mindset transitioning from Weather Or Not into the writing and recording of what would become Unlearning Vol. 1. “I don’t feel like I’m Evidence, the character. I feel like I’m me,” he revealed to DJ Booth, adding “I don’t mind evolving publicly.”

Unlearning Vol. 1 pairs Evidence’s own production with The Alchemist, Nottz, Sebb Bash, Animoss, Mr. Green, V Don, Daringer, Khrysis and EARDRUM (QThree), highlighting perhaps an undervalued skill of Ev’s—his ability to collaborate with a multitude of producers while still creating an album with a cohesion and consistency rarely found in such extensive collaboration. While the album’s musical soundscape sets the scene, it’s Ev’s gift for relatable yet inventively clever writing that really paints the picture. That said, a small but powerful cast of guest appearances also decorate the landscape, courtesy of stellar performances from Boldy James, Conway The Machine, Fly Anakin, Navy Blue, and Murkage Dave.

For Unlearning Vol. 1, Evidence embraced pure artistic expression, fully immersing himself in the creative process. The result is a fourteen-track effort that pulls inspiration from Evidence’s surroundings and collaborators while remaining undeniably true to his foundation.

As a solo artist, and one-third of Dilated Peoples, Evidence has established himself as one of hip-hop’s most accomplished rappers and producers, working with The Alchemist, Beastie Boys, DJ Premier, WestsideGunn, Linkin Park, Prodigy, Rapsody, Aloe Blacc, Action Bronson, Slug (of Atmosphere), Cypress Hill and many more.

He’s also earned a Grammy Award for co-production on Kanye West’s College Dropout and two JUNO Awards for his work with Canadian hip-hop group Swollen Members.

In addition to 3 solo albums and 1 solo EP, he has also recorded and released five albums together with Rakaa Iriscience and DJ Babu as Dilated Peoples, and one album together with The Alchemist as Step Brothers. Evidence is set to release his 4th solo album, Unlearning Vol 1 this summer, 2021.

Track List:

  1. Better You [Produced by The Alchemist]
  2. Start The Day With A Beat [Produced by Evidence, Cuts by DJ Skizz]
  3. Sharks Smell Blood [Produced by Sebb Bash]
  4. Pardon Me [Produced by Animoss]
  5. All Of That Said feat. Boldy James [Produced by Evidence]
  6. Won’t Give Up The Danger feat. Murkage Dave [Produced by Mr Green]
  7. Moving On Up feat. Conway the Machine [Produced by Daringer, Cuts by DJ Babu]
  8. Talking To The Audience [Produced by Khrysis]
  9. All Money 1983 [Produced by EARDRUM (Qthree)]
  10. Pray With An A feat. Navy Blue [Produced by EARDRUM (Qthree)]
  11. Lost In Time (Park Jams) [Produced by Nottz, Cuts by DJ Babu]
  12. Delay The Issue feat. Fly Anakin [Additional Vocals by Luke James, Produced by Evidence]
  13. Taylor Made Suit [Produced by V Don]
  14. Where We Going From Here… [Produced by Sebb Bash]