Nicely crafted with a hint of exposure to the New World Order, Jason Herring & The Mystery Plan give a sonic orchestration in the form of ‘Electric Love’. The audio landscape tantalizes the ears and grooves the soul with musical score nuances and a pleasing accompanying visualization in the form of a storyboard like video. Masterful!

'Electric Love' cover.
‘Electric Love’ cover.

About Jason Herring & The Mystery Plan
Jason Herring & The Mystery Plan released their new album ‘Queensland Ballroom’ on September 8 via Ten Millimeter Omega Recordings. With an infectious chilled atmosphere and dreamy female vocals, ‘Electric Love’ is the first single from this release. The accompanying video was directed by Jon Ecklund and Fiona Jones and produced by Dream Out Loud Media.

Based out of Charlotte, North Carolina, the band is comprised of Jason Herring, Otis Hughes, Jeff Chester, Amy Herring, Paul Jensen and Patty McLaughlin. This 11-track offering follows the band’s ‘Electric Love’ EP, released in June of this year.

Both of these releases involved production by legendary producer John Fryer, one of the most innovative sonic architects of our age. “John Fryer has practically soundtracked your entire life,” says Impose Magazine, with a musical imprint that is massive, having shaped the sound of nearly all early 4AD Records’ releases (Cocteau Twins, Lush, Kristin Hersh, Dead Can Dance), as well as bands from Nine Inch Nails and Love and Rockets to HIM and Depeche Mode. He is also one of just two artists behind This Mortal Coil, along with Ivo Watts-Russell, and the mastermind behind his latest project Black Needle Noise.

Jason Herring met Fryer while visiting Los Angeles, where his studio is currently based. After collaborating on the ‘Electric Love’ EP, they launched into the new ‘Queensland Ballroom’ LP, which sees the band take a turn from their trademark psychedelic folk sound to a more electronic downtempo groove.

After a hiatus of several years, bandmates Jason Herring (The Interstellars, Muchacho, Farfalla) and Paul Jensen (Fetchin’ Bones, the Interstellars) began writing songs again. Soon thereafter, the first album ‘The Future Ain’t What It Used to Be’ was released in 2010, followed by ‘Chateau Beaumont’ in 2012 and ‘Long Shadows’ in 2014.

“Our previous releases are a little melancholy, so Amy and I decided we should make this record a little more fun. A record outside of our norm” says, Jason Herring. “Electric Love was inspired by Amy and I feeling a bit randy in the studio – that’s fun, yeah?”

This whole experience ultimately led Jason Herring to collaborate further with John Fryer on music for a feature film and an HBO documentary. Fryer also appears briefly in the new video for ‘Electric Love’.

SOURCE: Official Bio