1. An Interview with Beauty in Chaos’ Michael Ciravolo, Wayne & Cinthya Hussey + New Video Jammerzine Exclusive 1:14:27

Beauty in Chaos has today released their new video for the remix track titled ‘The Delicate Balance Of All Things’ (Rapid Reiteration Mix).

We also have an exclusive interview with Michael Ciravolo, Wayne Hussey, and Cinthya Hussey on how the video came to be and how it was filmed while staying safe in the age of COVID.

‘The Delicate Balance Of All Things’ (Rapid Reiteration Mix) and video is clearly a massive departure for BIC in both video and audio realms. The video, for one, was shot remotely using an entirely different crew in Brazil and, besides the obvious that Beauty in Chaos’ Michael Ciravolo is not in the video, the departure is in the style and execution.

The track is even more of a complete departure stylistically from what has come before. Now featuring Cinthya Hussey on lead vocals, Wayne on background vocals, and astonishing guitar work by Nick Johnston, is a stellar mix of darkness, suave, and the world, in places you would never expect. The bass gives off an almost ‘Peter Gabriel’ vibe at times before snapping into place in lockstep with the beat that, at times, drags you into the hook but in a good way.

To me, this is an almost Pink Floyd level shift sonically and visually that gives a hint that Beauty in Chaos is becoming comfortable at being different.

Check out our other features with Beauty in Chaos HERE.

About Beauty in Chaos & ‘The Delicate Balance of All Things’ (Rapid Reiteration Mix) ft. Cinthya Hussey

The original version of this song, penned by BIC curator Michael Ciravolo and The Mission’s Wayne Hussey, appears on ‘The Storm Before The Calm’ album. Along with BIC producer Michael Rozon, Ciravolo set out to strip down the ominous tone of the original especially for this remix release. After hearing Wayne’s wife Cinthya’s rendition of The Smith’s ‘Everyday Is Like Sunday’, the idea emerged for her to sing this new version along with Wayne.

This remix was created by legendary producer Tim Palmer (David Bowie, The Mission, U2, The Cure). BIC main-man, Michael Ciravolo says “Tim has always been one of my favorite producers … and one of the silver-linings of this lockdown is that he has time to do this and two other remixes for our new album”.

Far from being a typical band, with its revolving/evolving lineup, videos are truly the ‘face’ of BIC. Ciravolo’s goal is to make each visually different from its predecessor and this new video certainly checks that box!

“When we returned the track, the delicate balance of all things, to Michael with Cinthya’s newly-completed vocals, Michael’s reaction was to declare he loved it and that we had to shoot a video for this version, remixed by the redoubtable Tim Palmer,” said Wayne Hussey.

“With the option of traveling to LA to shoot out of the question due to current Covid-19 restrictions, Cinthya, being in the trade somewhat, contacted a few of her colleagues to ascertain who exactly might be interested in helping us shoot a video in Sao Paulo. Enter the Antipodean Mark Bromilow. Mark and Cinthya had previously acted together on a Kit-Kat advert and had remained friends. The many credits to his name include time spent as artistic director for Cirque De Soleil, where he met the Brazilian Natalia Presser, the featured aerial artist in this video.”

“Locations were scouted, Cinthya having the idea of filming in an old theatre or abandoned warehouse – somewhere strange – while Mark came up with the idea of filming in a currently-closed-down-due-to-Covid circus in Sao Paulo. So the Big Top it was. Using David Lynch as inspiration, we aimed for the video to evoke something otherworldly and magical. So, how did we do?”

The full 27-track collection of the ‘Out Of Chaos Comes…’ LP (available on CD) is deep and diverse and comes with a few surprises, including Ashton Nyte’s gorgeous acoustic version of ‘The Outside’, and an acoustic/mellotron drenched ‘Memory Of Love’ from Human Drama’s Johnny Indovina. There are also some new and fantastic guitar moments from Simon Hinkler (The Mission), Richard Fortus (Guns N’ Roses), Mark Gemini Thwaite (Peter Murphy. The Wonder Stuff), and Nick Johnston.

‘Out Of Chaos Comes… is now available on vinyl (8 tracks), CD (14 tracks), and digitally (27 tracks). The full digital version is included with an LP / CD purchase. Limited-edition colored vinyl also includes an exclusive cover-art poster, signed by many of the artists involved. It can be ordered in its various formats HERE.

Song Credits

  • Cinthya Hussey – vocals
  • Wayne Hussey – background vocals
  • Michael Ciravolo – guitars, textures, and percussion
  • Michael Rozon – synth and percussion
  • Mike Mallory – bass
  • Nick Johnston – outro guitar solo
  • Tim Palmer – synth, drum programming, guitars, and co-production
  • Additional recording and production by Michael Rozon and Wayne Hussey
  • Written by Wayne Hussey and Michael Ciravolo

Video Credits

  • Cinthya Hussey – the beauty
  • Wayne Hussey – the beast
  • Natalia Presser – aerialist
  • Video concept by Mark Bromilow, Cinthya Hussey, and Wayne Hussey
  • Produced by Cia do Polvo
  • Directed by Mark Bromilow
  • Assistant director: Natalia Presser
  • Photography: Nico Serrano
  • Camera assistant: Fabrício Cezario
  • Production assistant: Patricia Rizzi
  • Make up by Marcio Merighi
  • Edited by Cinthya Hussey
  • Filmed on location in Sao Paulo, Brazil