1. An Interview with Kenny Dubman Jammerzine Exclusive 39:48

Jammerzine has an exclusive interview with guitarist/songwriter Kenny Dubman. And today, with the release of his new album titled ‘Conflicted’, we get a behind the scenes look at that new album plus what inspires Kenny and his songwriting process. More a good conversation than an interview, we get the feel for the inspiration behind Kenny’s music and find out that he’s just as much an honest and good person as he is an astonishing musician. Enjoy!

About Kenny Dubman

Kenny was raised in a house where music played all the time, and it was his mom’s Hendrix and Santana records that etched their way into his psyche…he had to know how to make those sounds. By age 9 he had started guitar lessons, and by 12, had begun to unravel the mysteries of real rock guitar playing on his own, courtesy of Ace Frehely on the first Kiss Alive album. Ace was playing the Jimmy Page licks…but he played them slowly and methodically enough for a kid to digest and be able to repeat them, albeit clumsily at first. Over time, the pentatonic scale layout of the neck revealed itself, and he was off to the races, never looking back.

By Kenny’s senior year in high school, he had joined a newly minted band called Prophet with a bunch of Jersey guys several years his senior. They busted their asses learning progressive rock covers by Kansas, Yes, Rush, Genesis, Pink Floyd….as well as hard rock like Scorpions, Van Halen, Sabbath and AC/DC. By 1982, Prophet was one of the kings of the NJ club band circuit, playing 5 nights per week to packed houses all over the tri state area. In 1985, Prophet would release the first of their 3 albums; the self-titled “Prophet” (1985), followed by “Cycle Of The Moon” (1988), and “Recycled” (1991). All records met with critical acclaim, yet Prophet would never rise above cult following status…a following which still remains today.
A few original music projects followed in the early 90’s, but he was growing weary of the music business and all of it’s fickle whims. He lost his passion for creating and trying to forge ahead, and channeled those passions elsewhere.

In 2013, Kenny found himself at an all-time low, having gone through quite a few years of real trauma in his personal life. He had finally shed all his baggage, and was slowly regaining himself and learning to stand again…gradually finding his footing. It was during this period that he stumbled on to an album that would set the course for a whole new musical re-birth for him…”The Whippoorwill” by Blackberry Smoke. Just happened to click on it by chance one day while looking for an album to play while at work.

‘Conflicted’ Track List

'Conflicted' cover.
‘Conflicted’ cover.
  1. Old Dog
  2. Modern Day Jesus
  3. Beautiful Like You
  4. Robbing You Blind
  5. Toeing the Line
  6. You Belong
  7. Stuck on Replay
  8. Cruelest of Them All
  9. Winter Wind
  10. Pitiful Fool
  11. For the Taking
  12. Wool Over Your Eyes

A year later, he was still listening to the whole record every day. A few months after that, song ideas that he thought were worth capturing started to appear for the first time in years. And on July 4th, 2016, Kenny released “Reckless Abandon”, his very first 100% solo record. And THAT…is where this awesome journey started for the second time…and he’ll never look back again.