Earthist are a band that cannot be pigeonholed as cliche. Haling from Parma, Italy, Earthist’s music is set to represent the new global scene and prove to the masses that originality and creativity are not dead. One listen to the album “Lightward” will confirm that. Check out the accompanying sampler and enjoy our conversation with Earthist!

Earthist are:

  • Giacomo Giuffredi (Guitar/Bass/Backing Vocals)
  • Francesco Parrino (Piano/Keyboards/Lead Vocals)
  • Federico Ronchini (Guitar/Lead Vocals)
  • Alberto Tanara (Drums)

About Earthist:


Earthist was formed in 2012 in Parma, Italy. The band members are Federico Ronchini (1992, Lead Vocals and Guitar), Francesco Parrino (1994, Lead Vocals, Piano and Keyboards), Giacomo Giuffredi (1992, Guitar and Backing Vocals) and Alberto Tanara (1993, Drums).

Their sound evolved from britpop into a modern and powerful Alternative-Rock involving influences mainly coming from Folk, Indie, Progressive and 60/70’s Rock, enriched with rhythmic and melodic experiments.

After several gigs in the hometown (more than 20 in a few months), in April 2013 Earthist released “Now. Here. Or Nowhere.”, an EP featuring the first 8 self-composed songs, which achieved a great success even outside their city. It came first in many local and national contests such as “Notte d’evasione”, “Rock Industries Contest” and “FaNote 2013”, giving the band the opportunity to play at important festivals alongside Italian and foreign rising bands. Some of their songs have also been part of “Dreaming Alaska”, a feature film by Emanuele Valla that was critically acclaimed in many independent festivals and distributed in the US.

Within a year, their achievements and dedication began to show great results: the good reviews on the local radio and social media led Earthist to the attention of producer Riccardo Daga and A&R Carlo Bellotti, who decided to sign them for the release of their very first album.

Earthist’s debut album “Lightward” has been released worldwide via Epictronic/Plastic Head Distribution LTD on March 30th 2015.