Axle Creek has a new album coming out on January 27, 2015 called The Journey Home. Being a guitarist myself, I find the layered blend of stringed instruments as well as the songwriting of Bob Carey in concert with the rugged yet soothing vocals of Randy Porter become a perfect example of where rock, blues, country, and Americana are seamlessly melding together while paying their tributes to that which is America. Check out these previews and see for yourself.

Axle Creek will release their full-length album, The Journey Home on January 27, 2015.

About Axle Creek:
Music from Axle Creek has a classic rock feel with several songs blending a bit of blues or country into the mix.

Axle Creek is comprised of the singer songwriter duo of Randy Porter and Bob Carey.

Randy grew up working his uncle’s farm and credits his vocal coach, an 8 track tape of Olivia Newton-John, and his private vocal studio, a closed cab John Deere 4430 tractor, for developing and perfecting his unique sound. Since then Randy has been featured on hundreds of national and local commercials and live performances.

Some national spots you may recall are ABC’s, “Friday Night TGIF” and Disney’s “On Disney”. 

Randy has toured with various Department of Defense and USO Tours around the world. Randy currently works as a consultant for a high-tech learning firm in Utah but takes every opportunity to exercise his vocal chord…even if it’s singing in the family room with his wife and daughters. Being with his family is his all time favorite kind of singing and performing.

Bob grew up in Oregon, loving the ocean and the deep green of the forest. He’s been writing songs since he was 14, working out chord progressions on an old Ovation 12 string guitar. 

With new and old friends, he created “The Journey Home” – ten of his favorite songs he had written – crossing into modern classic rock. 

He cares for his wife who is fighting Multiple Sclerosis (MS), Diabetes, and Osteoporosis and has two sons who are moving forward in their careers.

First Album, The Journey Home:

  • Songwriter: Bob Carey
  • Producer: Bob Carey
  • Lead Vocalist: Randy Porter
  • Harmony: Dustin Christensen
  • Keyboards: Dustin Christensen
  • Lead Guitar: Doug Collins, Josh Campbell, Ryan Tilby
  • Acoustic Guitar: Doug Collins, Ryan Tilby
  • Bass Guitar: Ryan Tilby, Jared Harding
  • Dobro, Banjo, and Mandolin: Ryan Tilby
  • Drums: Rob Tinney
  • Electronic Percussion on “Some Kind of Clue”: Dan Reneer
  • Recording Engineer and Co-Producer: Clarke Jackman
  • Mix Engineer: Michael Greene
  • Mastering Engineering: James Anderson, The BitFarm