1. I Love You Modesty Blaise 3:22
  2. Catwalk Queens Modesty Blaise 4:43
  3. Come Lie Beside Me Modesty Blaise 2:34
  4. Sad Songs Modesty Blaise 2:55
  5. Girls Just Wanna Dance Modesty Blaise 3:26
  6. Rollerdisco Modesty Blaise 4:59
  7. Out Tonight Modesty Blaise 2:35
  8. Natalie Vendredi Modesty Blaise 2:58
  9. Oh! Redmond Modesty Blaise 5:32
  10. Pink Champagne On Mars Modesty Blaise 5:06
  11. And The Lights Went Out All Over Town Modesty Blaise 4:26

Modesty Blaise are set to release their new album titled ‘The Modesty Blaise’ tomorrow (March 26th), and we have the premiere today!

That initial listen gives a solid songwriting presence that few bands have at this level. You will hear what I mean when you press play. That certain something with a varied array of instruments layered and orchestrated like only a true band of songwriters can achieve.

Each song is signature and diverse just enough to feel like a collective work on features throughout the last four decades, yet each has that modern sound and production to place it solidly in the current decade.

Finding a favorite track will be and may be hard to do with the individuality of each track at this level of talent. But I’m sure you will.

As of March 26, ‘The Modesty Blaise’ LP will be available digitally everywhere, including SpotifyApple Music and Amazon. In the UK, it can be ordered from Rough Trade in the UK, hhv in Germany, Disk Union in Japan and via the label itself.

Check out our other features with Modesty Blaise HERE.

About Modesty Blaise

After a 20-year hiatus, Bristol-based Avant indiepop outfit Modesty Blaise is back with their long-awaited third album ‘The Modesty Blaise’ via German label From Lo-Fi to Disco! This baroque pop collection is the band’s first long-player in 20 years, having released their head-turning ‘Melancholia’ LP in 2001, featuring hit single ‘Carol Mountain’.

“When everyone else was in their bedrooms working on guitar solos and dreaming of being a rock god, I was reading biographies of Cole Porter and listening to Gershwin and Jerome Kern and Irving Berlin. I try to write concise things, with deliberate moves away from that where necessary,” says frontman and songwriter Jonny Collins.

Earlier, the band previewed several album tracks, including the latest ‘Come Lie Beside Me’, lead single ‘Girls Just Wanna Dance’ (a perfect orchestral pop song and live favourite singalong that is more Music Hall than Dance Hall), ‘Sad Songs’, ‘I Love You’ and ‘Natalie Vendredi’ (with its endearing nouvelle vague video).

Modesty Blaise have been around for a few decades in various guises. After forming in 1993, the band quickly recorded their debut single ‘Christina Terrace’ with the esteemed Edwyn Collins at the helm, garnering them immediate success with a live appearance on ITV and inclusion among many many end-of-year top music rankings. This acclaim however was not enough to quell the kind of internecine warfare that Modesty Blaise have become famous for.

After ‘Melancholia’, the band faced one delay after another with line-up changes and deteriorating personal circumstances. An all-too-familiar spiral, the years went by slowly but, no matter how bad it got, Jonny still had his guitars in his mum’s attic.

“Melody, arrangement and counter melodies… The 3 minute pop single is, I’d contest, the summit of great art. It is timeless, and we consistently get it wrong confusing art with commerce. If your art (or your pop record) sounds like today, it may sound like yesterday pretty soon. Pop iconoclasm,” says Jonny Collins.

Oher Modesty Blaise career highlights include supporting Robbie Williams at London’s O2 Arena, inclusion in a Rough Trade compilation, an ITV company documentary on Jonny Collins, and a BBC Radio session involving seventeen people.