The Test Drive: The Marivaux - One EPHailing from Manchester, The Marivaux formed in 2009, bound by a common refusal to be strangled by the shirt and tie lifestyle. Naturally restless musicians, their gritty ambition has seen them embark on four years of shows around the UK, Ireland and Europe, self funded and driven purely by the love of music, people and travelling.

The Marivaux released their debut single ‘All In Good Time in 2012. The track was championed by BBC Manchester’s Introducing team leading to airplay on BBC 6 Music, Radio 2, Real XS and Imagine FM.

Their new release, upcoming four track One EP has been mixed by Grammy Award Winner Ian Dowling (Catfish & the Bottlemen, Adele, Bombay Bicycle Club). Both ‘Birds and the Bees’ and ‘Mr Insane’ have been recently featured on BBC Introducing in Manchester. The band also performed a live session receiving more than 8000 views to date

The music video for ‘Birds and the Bees’ was directed by actor /director Sean Ward (Our Girl, Away Days and Coronation St.) and stars Georgia May Foote (Strictly Come Dancing and Coronation St.) along with local Manchester actor Jack Johnson.

Calling out to free thinkers, The Marivaux have a growing fanbase who appreciate the band’s live experience and credible underground music.


“The Marivaux, music for the mind, songs for the soul, watch them grow.”
Mike Garry, Manchester poet, author of God Is A Manc, currently touring with John Cooper Clarke

“The best band I’ve seen in about f****** 10 years. “
Cass Lewis, Skunk Anansie

“Think if Thin Lizzy had a bastard child with Kings of Leon, which was then brought up by Foo Fighters. A band to watch out for”
Mason Jones, Manchester Evening News, NME

“These guys have got such star quality, they never fail to surprise me.”
Producer Simon ‘Ding’ Archer (Pixies, PJ Harvey, The Fall)


Live Dates:
27/02/2016- Prestwich Beer Festival, Manchester
08/04/2016 – EP Launch, Gullivers, Manchester

The Band:
Phil McAdam (lead singer & guitarist)
Matt Shields (lead guitarist and vocals)
Ben Peacock (vocal and drums)
Rik Packer (vocals and bass)