1. Catatonic Voyage Scatter Factory 1:00
  2. Scatter'd Scatter Factory 1:00
  3. Out The Blocks Scatter Factory 1:00
  4. Sheepish Hello Scatter Factory 1:00
  5. Spartan Missile Scatter Factory 1:00
  6. PowWow Scatter Factory 1:00
  7. Plains Awash Scatter Factory 1:00
  8. Not There Yet (and it's getting dark) Scatter Factory 1:00
  9. Mea Culpa Scatter Factory 1:00

A few weeks after the review of Scatter Factory’s single “Out The Blocks”. Now they have released the entire album, and that is every bit the adventurous landscape that “Out The Blocks” promised it would be. Part atmospheric journey and part introspective dreamscape, Scatter Factory achieve a sonic bliss via every track as they seamlessly collide with one another in a torrent of sounds, melodies, and beats that will captivate the heart and fill the soul.


twitter25@scatterfactory [rotatingtweets screen_name=’scatterfactory’]


Scatter Factory album cover
Scatter Factory album cover

About Scatter Factory
This is the solo project of Will Foster, a multi-instrumentalist, songwriter and arranger who was a member of acclaimed art-pop band Delicatessen, as well as Top 40 hit-scoring Lodger in the 1990s. He has since written string arrangements for acts under Simon Raymonde’s guardianship, been a touring keyboardist / guitarist with Martina Topley-Bird, Brett Anderson/ Bernard Butler reunion vehicle The Tears, and Heather Nova. Since 2008, Will has been regularly touring and recording as keyboardist with The Fratellis.

Foster neatly sums up his shift in position: “I’m still in the background – but now there’s nobody else there with me.”

Suede’s Brett Anderson, with whom he toured in support of his solo album, describes Scatter Factory’s music as “beautiful stuff”. Scatter Factory is an eloquent instrumental album that manages to be both vividly imagistic and intriguingly open-ended, playing as a set piece while ranging across pastoral tranquillity, cosmic spookiness, and indeterminate dread. Composed, played, produced and mixed by Foster at his home in Oxford, this album features an array of electronica, pianos, guitars and percussion, while also making imaginative use of field recordings and treated sounds.

‘Scatter Factory’ is a non-prescriptive record that poses more questions than it provides answers and artist James Marsh, renowned for his Talk Talk album covers, has responded to this with a striking, retro-futurist graphic design for the cover artwork. It’s bold and dynamic in a way that befits someone flying solo for the first time, even if they are obscured by clouds.

From the nine tracks featured on the LP, one other track ‘PowWow’ (edited version) is available for free download and streaming on Bandcamp. Its mix of light-filled lyricism and downright eeriness illustrates Foster’s knack for shifting mood, as well as pace and tone.

Released July 22, ‘Scatter Factory’ is now widely available through digital stores and also as a handsome digipak CD.